EU Agrees To Open Its Doors to Vaccinated non-EU Travellers

  • Publish date: Thursday، 20 May 2021
EU Agrees To Open Its Doors to Vaccinated non-EU Travellers

Ahead of the summer tourist season, European Union countries agreed on Wednesday to ease COVID-19 travel restrictions on non-EU visitors.

The 27 EU countries approved a European Commission proposal from May 3 to let in fully vaccinated tourists from “safe” countries and elsewhere EU sources said.

In addition, EU ambassadors agreed to loosen the criteria to determine “safe” countries. They are expected to set a new list this week or early next week.

Britain and a number of other countries would meet the new criteria based on data from the European Centre for Disease Control and Prevention.

However, only vaccinated Americans with proof of vaccination will be welcomed.

Current Restrictions

The current main criterion is that there should be no more than 25 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people in the previous 14 days.

Under current restrictions, people from only seven countries, including Australia, Israel and Singapore, can enter the EU on holiday, regardless of whether they have been vaccinated.

Individual countries can and will still be able to choose to demand a negative COVID-19 test or a period of quarantine.

The Commission proposed raising the case rate to 100 but the EU ambassadors opted instead for 75.

Vaccinated People Access Requirements

For inoculated people to gain access, they would need to have received an EU-approved vaccine, with those with a World Health Organisation emergency listing being considered.

These people should have received final doses at least 14 days before travel.

Under the plan, EU countries that waive test or quarantine requirements for vaccinated EU tourists are encouraged to do the same for vaccinated non-EU holidaymakers.

Children should also be able to travel with vaccinated parents.

The EU plan covers countries of the border-free Schengen area, including non-EU members Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, but not the non-Schengen EU member Ireland.

Follow us on our Whatsapp channel for latest news