Norway, Ireland, & Spain to Recognize Palestine as a State

Norway will join Ireland and Spain in doing so.

  • Publish date: Wednesday، 22 May 2024 Last update: Tuesday، 04 June 2024
Norway, Ireland, & Spain to Recognize Palestine as a State

Norway's Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre announced on Wednesday, May 22 that his country will recognize Palestine as a state as of Tuesday, May 28. 

Norway made this decision along with Ireland and Spain for peace and stability in the Middle East. 

Støre said, "There cannot be peace in the Middle East if there is no recognition."

Shortly after the Norwegian PM's announcement, Ireland's Prime Minister Simon Harris said at a news conference, "Today, Ireland, Norway, and Spain are announcing that we recognise the state of Palestine."

Harris also said, "I’m confident that further countries will join us in taking this important step in the coming weeks."

The Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez announced on Wednesday that his country with recognize the Palestinian state on May 28. 

Sanchez said, "Sanchez: “If I have one thing clear, it is that Netanyahu does not have a peace project for Palestine. That is why I want to inform you that on May 28, Spain will agree to recognize the Palestinian state.”

Following the three countries' move, Israel ordered its ambassadors in Ireland and Norway to return to Israel immediately. 

Image source: @jonasgahrs Instagram page

Follow us on our Whatsapp channel for latest news