Are Takis Chips Halal?

  • Publish date: Friday، 17 November 2023
Are Takis Chips Halal?

Kids of all ages (and adults) are in love with Takis! Takis chips are popular around the world but in particular in our region the Middle East and Muslim countries. They are known for their intense spicy flavour and recently, questions about whether it is halal or not have been gaining popularity. 

To be clear,  Ingredients used to make Takis Fuego chips are halal by nature. Takis chips contain no animal products and are vegetarian-friendly. Thus, there is no proof to classify Takis chips as haram.

Are Takis Chips Halal?

Several entities have reached out to customer service representatives at Takis. However, Takis would not give a clear standing on whether it was halal or not (to protect the company legally).

Therefore, we did our individual research and checked the ingredients to see if there are suspicious ingredients in the package.

Ingredients in Takis Fuego Chips – Are They Halal?

We looked up the ingredients list on U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE and here’s what we found (source):

  • Corn flour,
  • Vegetable oil (soybean and/or canola) and palm oil (palm oil and/or fractionated palm oil),
  • Seasoning [corn maltodextrin, sugar, citric acid, potassium chloride, rice flour, salt, monosodium glutamate, natural and artificial flavours (corn maltodextrin, yeast extract, monosodium glutamate, disodium inosinate and guanylate, potato starch, gum arabic), hydrolyzed soybean protein, dehydrated onion, spice extractives (including red chili pepper), sodium bicarbonate, colours, disodium inosinate and guanylate, sodium acetate, soybean oil, acetic acid, bha and silicon dioxide. contains barley gluten.],
  • Water.

May contain peanuts, milk, egg, wheat, sulphites and mustard

Nothing on the list looked suspicious. 

Halal and Kosher Food. What is Common and How Are They Different?

Our Conclusion on Takis being Halal

From our own research and the information we found while writing this post, we couldn’t find any evidence that TAKIS chips are not halal. Many sources state that it is halal and permissible to eat.

With all that said, we still encourage you to do your own homework if you still feel unsure as to whether Takis are halal or not.

This article was previously published on saudimoments.To see the original article, click here